Muscle Junkies Rock SA’s and Hennie is the last man standing

Over 190 athletes from around South Africa met in East London from 9-12 September, for what can be considered the biggest and best IFBB SA Champs to date.

Promoted by IFBB Border, the IFBB SA Champs Finals took the stage at Abbotsford Christian Centre on September 12th with over 130 athletes from all regions of South Africa representing their province in the top 6 of each category. Competing before a panel of judges in the Overall line up, Hennie Kotze repeated his win from his provincial champs and was crowned the IFBB SA Overall Champion for 2009. Although not the biggest competitor in the overall line up, Hennie had visibly improved from his provincial show, and sported superior conditioning, highlighted by sharp definition, muscularity and striated muscles, proving that size doesn’t always matter!

This was a dream come true for Hennie, who has been working towards this for the past 10 years.

Fellow SSN Team mates, were there to cheer Hennie in the overall line up and celebrate his success with him.

Congratulation go out to all SSN Muscle Junkies who really did us proud:
Steve Mclaren – 1st Over 40’s u80kg
Justin Thacker – 3rd Classic Division
Chris Fitzpatrick – 3rd Light heavyweight
Bruce Namhing – 4th Light Heavyweight
Hennie Kotze – 1st Heavyweight
Andrew Hudson – 2nd Heavyweight
Mario van Biljon – 3rd Heavyweight

Photo Gallery

Juniors Under 21 Under 75kg
Place Athlete
1st Tyren Fortuin
2nd Keoagile Sehunoe
3rd Bongani Myaka
Place Athlete
4th Mangosuthu Maqwara
5th Alfred Makgotlho
6th Jade Essundrup

Juniors Under 21 Over 75kg
Place Athlete
1st Johann Du Plessis
2nd Louis Bessinger
3rd Steven Domeris
Place Athlete
4th Luan Maree
5th Armando Van Dyk
6th Timo Nzombo

Ladies Body Fitness Up To 163cm
Place Athlete
1st Nicky Campbell
2nd Charmaine Varnfield
3rd Esme Van Rensburg
Place Athlete
4th Mariette Barnard
5th Lisa Ncetani
6th Yvonne Kotze

Ladies Body Fitness Up To 168cm
Place Athlete
1st Philippa Lamont Wilkie
2nd Michelle Price
3rd Carina Lourens
Place Athlete
4th Kathryn Clough
5th Cheryl Newton

Ladies Body Fitness Over 168cm
Place Athlete
1st Marlene Koekemoer
2nd Yolanda Hartman
3rd Elizabeth Van Rooyen
Place Athlete
4th Tracey Mcleod
5th Elize Botha

Ladies Bodybuilding
Place Athlete
1st Charmaine Howell
2nd Farrah Janse Van Rensburg
3rd Lungi Plummer
Place Athlete
4th Wanda Fourie
5th Lorraine Canham
6th Ali Phephe

Masters 40-49 / Under 80kg
Place Athlete
1st Steve Mclaren - SSN Muscle Junkie
2nd Goodman Gqomo
Place Athlete
3rd Alfred Lugongolo
4th Kobus Lottering

Masters 40-49 / Over 80kg
Place Athlete
1st Federico Focherini
2nd Marius Jute
3rd Ronnie Koen
Place Athlete
4th Mario Venter
5th Anton Nel
6th Christoffel Wolmerans

Veterans 50 Years And Older
Place Athlete
1st Nelson Benjamin
2nd Piet Strydom
3rd Gerhardt Rathbone
Place Athlete
4th Benny Pillay
5th Christopher Van Heerden
6th Mopp Arense

Senior Men’s Classic Bodybuilding
Place Athlete
1st Ulrich Wallendorf
2nd Mtltoko Duma
3rd Justin Thacker - SSN Muscle Junkie
Place Athlete
4th Dumi Kutule
5th Daniel Asare
6th Charl Kruger

Senior Flyweight
Place Athlete
1st Frans Hloi
2nd Godwin Nthutang
3rd Monwabisi Kabani
Place Athlete
4th Loster Lengisi
5th Melikaya Mbelekane
6th Desmond Matsoso

Senior Bantamweight
Place Athlete
1st Sydney Booysen
2nd Sandile Memela
3rd Phineas Chabalala
Place Athlete
4th Zongezile Thamba
5th Sapho Nkata
6th Thabo Baloyi

Senior Lightweight
Place Athlete
1st Mervyn Hannie
2nd Lucky Nyandeni
3rd Bulelani Jola
Place Athlete
4th Alfred Bethani
5th Oarabile Botshelo
6th Marco Grobler

Senior Welterweight
Place Athlete
1st William Ntjola
2nd Edgar Field
3rd Tobie Visagie
Place Athlete
4th Siyabulela Vusani
5th Derek Donker
6th Jyson Chabalala

Senior Light Middle Weight
Place Athlete
1st Conrad Nagel
2nd Michael Adonis
3rd Armand Fourie
Place Athlete
4th Lwazi Buso
5th Terrence Pillay
6th Charles Luck

Senior Middleweight
Place Athlete
1st Unati Fabe
2nd Jaco Possel
3rd Grant Momberg
Place Athlete
4th Thembelani Dlodlo
5th Mpumelelo Mazula
6th Vusumzi Njisane

Senior Light Heavyweight
Place Athlete
1st Paul Prins
2nd Carlos Nunes
3rd Chris Fitzpatrick - SSN Muscle Junkie
Place Athlete
4th Bruce Namhing - SSN Muscle Junkie
5th Ryno Greeff
6th Peter Monye

Senior Heavyweight
Place Athlete
1st Hennie Kotze - SSN Muscle Junkie
2nd Andrew Hudson - SSN Muscle Junkie
3rd Mario Van Biljon - SSN Muscle Junkie
Place Athlete
4th Thabang Xuma
5th Earl Abrahams
6th Harry Imori

Senior Super Heavyweight
Place Athlete
1st Marius Dohne
2nd Andre Van Der Mescht
3rd Heinrich Vos
Place Athlete
4th John Leslie
5th Wayne Van Wyngaardt
6th Shanti Mitchell

Overall Winners
Ladies Body Fitness Philippa Lamont Wilkie
Masters Federico Focherini
Senior Men Hennie Kotze

Best Poser
Bulelani Jola